“Fire in the Wet Lab”, BFA Junior Show to Open at 25 East Gallery

Fire in the Wet Lab

25 East Gallery

April 18—26, 2018

Reception: April 24, 2018

6:30—8 PM

25 East 13th Street

New York NY 10003

Curated by the BFA Parsons Fine Arts Class of 2019

The Junior Class of the Parsons Fine Arts program is pleased to announce Fire in the Wet Lab, a group exhibition featuring recent work by the cohort’s 48 students. Having experienced a number of collective setbacks due to recent events, the featured artists choose to reclaim the limiting conditions under which the work is made.

As the title Fire in the Wet Lab indicates, the featured work embraces opposition. From using a preservative to intentionally undermine material qualities to presenting a QR code to access a more traditional oil painting, artists pose contradicting elements in dialogue with one another. Even within specific themes, artists explore the dualities of ideas at play, some contrasting artificial representation with natural sounds, or presenting the extravagance of an event alongside the quiet of its aftermath.
Just as the exhibition is the result of challenging circumstances, much of the artwork exists as a fragment, trace, or embodied memory of moments past. As these objects represent the times and spaces in which they were created, they express the fluidity of a moment in flux, or a problem unresolved. As 48 artists attempt to adhere to the spatial demands of the exhibition space, they find themselves continually getting in each other’s and their own way. Rather than force unnatural resolution, the artists take advantage of the dynamic nature of unfinished business.

Featuring Artists:

Tiago Mena Abrantes

Anna Archibald

Rosalind Aparicio-Ramirez

Thandiwe Bethune

Alexandra Blair

Daniel De Boulay

Violet Cheverez

Kris Costi

Claire Van Every

Lily Fei

Caitlin Flemming

Vica GH

Morrison Gong

Anna Gregor

Michelle Guterman

Jamie Hershman

Emily Hirschtick

Ingrid Hoerrner

Gemma N. A. Hunt

Nikheel Ayer

Emmalee Johnson-Kao

Saudia Jones

Andree Jong

Kristina V. Kalabacas

Tori Keefe

Rachel Leckman

Jane Lee

Sumin Lee

Laureen Liang

Joanna Lindell

Maria Del Pilar Lopez-Saavedra (Pili)

Ellie McIntyre

Malique Moore

Gabriela Noel

Lauren Phillips

María Quevedo

Ernesto Rivera

David Romo

Morgan Sheridan

Alec Snow

Tanwa Supatchapichai

Montana Thomas

Vy Trinh

Sofia Yeganeh

Xin Yu