The 2024 MFA Thesis exhibition is a manifestation of collective will, supported by many individuals from across The New School. We wish to acknowledge the heroic efforts of our Interim Executive Dean of Parsons School of Design, Yvonne Watson, AMT School Deans Shana Agid and Sam Mejias, Associate Dean Nadia Williams, as well as our Fine Arts Program Administrator Alyssa Bianca-Pavley, all of whom worked long hours while maintaining their good humour during a year full of unforeseen challenges. Our thanks also go to Director of Events and Special Projects Anthony Curry. Kudos and gratitude to our Making Center staff including Mick Hondlik, Catherine McCulloch, Lacie Garnes, Damien Vera, Leah Wolff, Lauren Phillips and Hashem Eaddy, and the entire AMT/Parsons operations team–especially PTF Manager – Brendan Wright, Course Planning Manager – Maya Valladares, Vice Dean, Academic Affairs and Planning – Kelly Grossi, Associate Director of Operations – Jesus Reyes Velardo, and the incredibly wise Academic Advisor – Cheryl Oliveri. Each of these individuals help students and faculty alike navigate through a complex and sometimes daunting institutional infrastructure, transforming it into a truly inspiring learning environment. 


Amidst the flurry of creative activity made possible through these collaborative efforts, we also value those who help keep our studio spaces safe and clean, including 25 East 13th St. Facilities Manager Ramon Mussenden and Studio Monitors Anahita Bagheri, parisa mah, Yeabsera Tabb, Felisa Nguyen and Julee Rogers. Thank you all for your energy, care and expertise in the lead-up to the Thesis exhibition.


On the pedagogical front, we are honored to work alongside an extraordinary teaching team. We applaud all of our talented part-time faculty colleagues who taught in the MFA program this past year, offering their dedication and care: Yasi Alipour, Tara Asgar, Sammy Cucher, Pamela Council Shoshana Dentz, Thom Donovan, Tasha Dougé Kris Grey, Jonah Groeneboer, Sara Jimenez, fields harrington, Eleanor Kipping, Sowon Kwon, Le’Andra LeSeur, Christopher Lin, Isaiah Madison , Jill Magid, zave martohardjono, Sana Musasama, Eric Ramos Guerrero, Marc Robinson, Amina Ross, Peter Rostovsky, Coral Saucedo Lomeli, Shane Aslan Selzer, Cullen Washington Jr., Kiyan Williams, Ezra Wube, and Carrie Yamaoka. We admire your impressive artistic accomplishments and continue to learn from you all on a daily basis! 


Of course, it is our full-time faculty colleagues in Fine Arts who have guided the daily workings of the program every step of the way: Anthony Aziz, Andrea Geyer, Jonah Groenboer, Gyun Hur, Selena Kimball, and Catherine Telford Keogh. Their indefatigable labour and camaraderie are rare and invaluable. Special acknowledgement to Lydia Matthews for her leadership and vision as co-director of the MFA Program, ushering in the class of 2024. We also benefit from the wisdom of Parsons Fine Arts Professor Emeritus Don Porcaro, who has continuously and  generously mentored our students through internships. We celebrate all of these outstanding faculty members’ deep commitment to keeping our collective pedagogy critical, creative and evolving.


The exhibition, yet traces linger – shines because of the extraordinary wisdom, patience and dedication of the Sheila C. Johnson Design Center’s Assistant Director of the Galleries Daisy Wong, Manager Daniel Chou, faculty support from Anthony Aziz, Andrea Geyer and Shane Aslan Selzer. Special thanks to Martin Seck – whose perceptiveness and keen eyes enable the artwork to come alive beyond the exhibition dates. A big shout out to Anahita Bagheri who assisted with preparing our online catalog, as well as the students who comprised the various MFA Thesis committees: Printed Matter: Maria Clara Rios Cacua, Jordan Homstad, Maria Clara Rios Cacua, Rose Silberman-Gorn, Maryam Alameri, Sabrina Thompson; Thesis Panels:Rose Silberman-Gorn, Beki Song, Anna Samara, Valeria or, Odella Li Press: Sabrina Thompson, Maria Clara Rios Cacua, Ryan Van Der Hout, Maryam Alameri; Website: Anahita Bagheri, Jordan Homstad, Arden Kraatz, Lola Carlander, Sej Sanghvi, Meiqi Kong, Ziqi Li; Exhibition Support:  Victoria, Mari, Anahita, Sej Sanghvi, Lola Carlander, Zhenyu Zhang, Victoria Norton, Ryan Van Der Hout, Arden Kraatz, parisa mah, Beki Song, Anna Samara, Yining Zhang, Meiqi Kong and Shiqi Luo.


 Special acknowledgement goes to Class of 2024 Representatives, Jordan Homstad, parisa mah, Maria Clara Rios Cacua, Sabrina Thompson and Ryan Van Der Hout whose gifted leadership has inspired our community to thrive for more. 


Finally, we are deeply grateful for the vision, grace and impeccable professionalism of our 2024 Thesis Show curator, Sarah Cho. She has so thoughtfully guided the students and assembled an outstanding exhibition that stands as the culmination of the semester-long engagement with 22 talented international artists. 

Thank you for all your collective wisdom and support!


H Lan Thao Lam
Director, MFA Fine Arts