Tag Archives: poster competition

Tara McPherson on judging panel for Art of Politics 2008

art of politics

Adjunct faculty member Tara McPherson will be judging artwork for the 2008 Art of Politics poster contest.  Winning posters will tour around the US!  Here’s a snippet from the organizers about the contest:

With buzz generating for the past several weeks, the national on-line political poster contest Art of Politics 2008 officially opened for submissions this week. “So far, the response has been incredibly promising- the idea really seems to resonate with people. We’re anxious to see what people submit and what issues are most commonly depicted.” Truly a grassroots effort, contest organizers Leslie Mestman and Summer Lewis have been developing an on-line network ranging from friends and colleagues to political groups and art schools in order to get the word out about the contest.

Art of Politics 2008 will be soliciting original graphic art political poster submissions through April 30, 2008. “We’re really hoping that people will express which issues they want heard this election season instead of just letting the candidates define it for them.” At the beginning of May, the contest will open up for People’s Choice on-line voting to select the thirty finalists. After the thirty are selected, the panel of judges will vote on the top three winners. In keeping with the spirit of the contest, the top three selected artists will each be given money to donate to the political, charitable, activist or political group of their choice.

Visit the official website or Art for Politics’s MySpace page for more information.  This is a great chance to create activist art and get involved!

Art of Politics 2008 Political Poster Contest

Theme: Political issues of local, national or global significance.  All artwork must be original. You must have permission to use any copyrighted images displayed in your artwork.  You can submit multiple pieces of art but only one prize per person will be awarded.

Submissions accepted: Jan 15, 2008 – April 30, 2008