School of Art, Media, and Technology

Vera List Center Fellowship – Call for Applications

Written by:


orion_constellation_smallOrion constellation. Photo courtesy Dallas Poll: Mt John University Observatory, Lake Tekapo, New Zealand

Vera List Center Fellowships 2013-2015
Application Deadline:
April 8, 2013

Vera List Center for Art and Politics
The New School
66 West 12th Street, Suite 918
New York, NY 10011

The Vera List Center for Art and Politics is pleased to invite applications for the 2013-2015 Vera List Center Fellowships. Two fellowships will be awarded, each spanning eight months and linked to the Vera List Center’s curatorial focus theme for 2013-2015, Alignment.

The Vera List Center Fellowships support individuals whose work advances the discourse on art and politics. The appointments provide the opportunity to further develop such work drawing from the academic resources of The New School, to expand on it in collaboration with students and classes, and to bring it to the public through the Vera List Center’s interdisciplinary public programs.

The center’s initiatives evolve around curatorial topics of particular urgency and broad resonance. In 2013–2015, the topic will be Alignment, usually referred to as the “proper or desirable relation of components.” With distinctions blurring between nature and culture, individual and group, and political and economic spheres, we will explore how and where alignments take place or happen, and why. Art will provide the transdisciplinary lens for this examination. Over the course of four semesters, Alignment will be analyzed and thematic program clusters will be formed around themes such as ecology; boycott, refusal and withdrawal; and ad hoc communities. The Vera List Center Fellows contribute to the intellectual foundation of the center, and through their fellowship projects advance the understanding of the focus theme.

The fellowship is part-time, non-residential, and carries a US$10,000 stipend. The fellows are supported by a student research assistant, they have access to a wide range of activities throughout The New School, and enjoy extensive library privileges. Meetings and informal gatherings with New School faculty and other constituencies are organized throughout the year.

Past fellows have included Maurice Berger, Wendy T. Ewald, Andrea Geyer, Margarita Gutman, Susan Hapgood, Sharon Hayes, Danny Hoch, Ashley Hunt, Bouchra Khalili, Lin + Lam, Kobena Mercer, Lorraine O’Grady, Olu Oguibe, Silvana Paternostro, Wendy Perron, Marjetica Potrc, Leslie Prosterman, Walid Raad, Sarah Rothenberg, Edward Rothstein, Katya Sander, Robert Sember, Joshua Simon, Elisabeth Sussman, David Thorne, Jonathan Weinberg


Journalists, historians, visual and performing artists, critics, curators, and cultural practitioners working in any field where they engage art and politics are encouraged to apply. The New School is an equal opportunity, affirmative action institution and encourages applications from minority candidates as well as from individuals without institutional affiliation.


Artistic and/or scholarly excellence of fellowship proposal project.
Significance of project to the candidate’s long-term practice.
Does the proposal relate to the focus theme in explicit and creative ways?
Does the fellowship project reflect or benefit from the association with The New School?


April 8, 2013 – Initial application due, followed by reviews by members of the VLC staff, the VLC Advisory Committee, past Fellows and New School faculty.
Mid-April to early May – Finalists are invited to expand on their proposals.
Late May – Announcement of fellowship appointments.
Fellowship terms: up to 8 months at any point between fall of 2013 and spring of 2015.

For details on fellowship, application form and procedure:

All Rights Reserved © 2024. Parsons School of Design.