School of Art, Media, and Technology

Photo faculty Craig Kalpakjian exhibits at Martos Gallery

Written by:



Martos Gallery is pleased to present LAT. 41° 7′ N., LONG. 72° 19′ W., a group show which will take place at its summer location in East Marion, New York. Organized by Bob Nickas, and his fourth off-site exhibition for the gallery, the title refers to the coordinates of the property. Many of the works have been made expressly for the show, or have been conceived especially for the site—10 wooded acres which sits between Orient Harbor and Long Island Sound. A number of artists who are not usually associated with outdoor works will take advantage of the expansive “outdoor gallery” that the natural setting provides. With 66 artists, it is by far the largest of these annual shows, split evenly between those who have been previously included, and 33 artists who are participating for the very first time. In addition, a significant number of artists, as well as the curator, have a strong connection to the North Fork of the island, and for them the landscape is familiar, formative, and alive—in many ways serving as an escape from the studio as well as a source for the ideas which animate their minds and drive their work from one summer to the next.


Martos Gallery summer location:
12395 Main Road, East Marion, NY

LAT. 41° 7′ N., LONG. 72° 19′ W

Organized by Bob Nickas

July 13 – September 2, 2013
Opening Reception: July 13, 3-6 pm

Open hours:
Thursday – Sunday
12-5 pm and by appointment


Participating artists include:


Vito Acconci – Bill Adams – Richard Aldrich – Christopher Astley


Jules de Balincourt – Barry X Ball – Justin Beal – Lisa Beck – Walead Beshty – Huma Bhabha – Barbara Bloom – Carol Bove


Elaine Cameron-Weir – Peter Coffin – Anna Conway – Andy Cross


Rachel Beth Day – Trisha Donnelly – Jim Drain


David Flaugher – Ryan Foerster – Jason Fox


Isa Genzken – Daan Van Golden – Tamara Gonzales – Wayne Gonzales – Robert Grosvenor


Charles Harlan – Rachel Harrison – Mary Heilmann – Jacqueline Humphries

Robert Janitz


Craig Kalpakjian – Bill Komoski


Jim Lambie – Adriana Lara – Justin Lieberman – Erik Lindman – Agnes Lux


Chris Martin – Eddie Martinez – Servane Mary – Justin Matherly – Jason Metcalf – John

Miller – Olivier Mosset – Sam Moyer – Dave Muller


Amy O’Neill – Virginia Overton


Marlo Pascual


Nick Relph – Aura Rosenberg


Ben Schumacher – Davina Semo – Meredyth Sparks – Lily van der Stokker – Aaron Suggs


Wolfgang Tillmans – Josh Tonsfeldt – John Tremblay


Kelley Walker – Dan Walsh – G. William Webb – T.J. Wilcox – B. Wurtz


All Rights Reserved © 2024. Parsons School of Design.