School of Art, Media, and Technology

AMT Faculty Lucille Tenazas To Receive AIGA Medal!

Written by:


medalist-lucille-tenazasThe medal of AIGA is awarded to individuals in recognition of their exceptional achievements, services or other contributions to the field of design and visual communication. Medals have been awarded since 1920 to individuals who have set standards of excellence over a lifetime of work or have made individual contributions to innovation within the practice of design. Medals will be handed out on April 19 at the AIGA Awards in NYC.

Design educator and practitioner Lucille Tenazas will be recognized for her prominent role in translating postmodern ideas into critical design practice; her exploration of the relationship between type, photography and language; and the development and leadership of highly-respected design education programs—always with exquisite execution.

Tenazas’ clients include Chronicle Books, Princeton Architectural Press, Rizzoli International and the Neue Galerie Museum for German and Austrian Art in New York. Her work has been featured in numerous exhibitions, including a retrospective of her work from the permanent collection of the San Francisco Museum of Modern Art, and in surveys at the Cooper-Hewitt, National Design Museum and the Cranbrook Academy of Art. In 2002, she received the Cooper-Hewitt’s National Design Award for Communication Design.

Press release:

List of all AIGA Medalists:

Individual Medalist pages:


All Rights Reserved © 2024. Parsons School of Design.