Faculty Charles Nix at MoMA

Charles Nix will be conducting a panel discussion with Matthew Carter,
Jonathan Hoefler, and Paola Antonelli at MoMA on Monday
night. He will more than a few questions for the trio, but he
wanted to throw it out to you, our type friends:

Do you have any burning questions you’d like to ask them?
(Smart alec responses are expected [and perhaps welcomed].)

Of course, it would be great to see you there. Details (very
recently posted) here:


In January 2011, the art of typography passed a major milestone when the venerable Museum of Modern Art acquired 23 digital typefaces* for its Architecture and Design Collection. But how does a digital typeface exist in a physical space? What criteria governed the type choices? Is this the end of the road for these faces? And how are humble type designers coping with this major recognition? Join the AIGA/NY for a panel discussion moderated by TDC Chairman Charles Nix and featuring two of the designers responsible for more than half of the MoMA acquisitions—Matthew Carter and Jonathan Hoefler—and the curator responsible for bringing typography into the Museum’s fold—Paola Antonelli.

*The 23 acquired typefaces are:
 American Type Founders, OCR-A (1966); Wim Crouwel, New Alphabet (1967); Matthew Carter, Bell Centennial (1976–78); Matthew Carter, ITC Galliard (1978); Erik Spiekermann, FF Meta (1984–1991); Zuzana Licko, Oakland (1985); Jeffery Keedy, Keedy Sans (1991); Erik van Blokland and Just van Rossum, FF Beowolf (1990); Barry Deck, Template Gothic (1990); P. Scott Makela, Dead History (1990); Jonathan Hoefler, HTF Didot (1991); Neville Brody, FF Blur (1992); Jonathan Barnbrook, Mason (1992); Matthew Carter, Mantinia (1993); Tobias Frere-Jones, Interstate (1993–95); Matthew Carter, Big Caslon (1994); Albert-Jan Pool, FF DIN (1995); Matthew Carter, Walker (1995); Matthew Carter, Verdana (1996); Jonathan Hoefler and Tobias Frere-Jones, Mercury (1996); Matthew Carter, Miller (1997);Jonathan Hoefler & Tobias Frere-Jones, Retina (1999); and Jonathan Hoefler & Tobias Frere-Jones, Gotham (2000)